لقد استمعت مؤخرًا لمالكوم جلادويل بودكاست صناعات بوشكين على الطريقة الأكثر استدامة لغسل ملابسنا. جعلني أتساءل ، ماذا is منظفات الغسيل المستدامة؟ هل الغسل بالماء البارد يجعل ملابسي نظيفة حقًا؟

مع وجود العديد من المنتجات المعبأة في ظلال جميلة من الأنماط الخضراء والطبيعة هذه الأيام ، من الصعب معرفة المنتجات التي يمكن الوثوق بها مع غسيلنا المتسخ.

تنعكس بودكاست مالكوم في الأيام الأولى للغسيل باستخدام ألواح الغسيل وخطوط الملابس والصابون محلي الصنع. من الناحية المثالية ، سنقوم جميعًا بإحضار أحمالنا إلى النهر لغسلها بالصابون الطبيعي وتعليقها حتى تجف ، ثم نشمس في وهج الغسيل المحايد الكربوني. لكن هذه الممارسة التي تتطلب الكثير من الجهد والوقت ليست واقعية بالنسبة لمعظمنا. في الحقيقة ، أنا ممتن جدًا لسحر أجهزتنا. يمكن للودر الأمامي الموثوق به أن ينقع ويزيل البقع ويشطف ثيابي كلها بضغطة زر.

من المؤكد أن الأمور أصبحت أسهل ، لكن استخدام المياه والطاقة تضاف.

وفقًا مشروع الغسيل، تقوم الأسرة الأمريكية العادية بغسل 8-10 أحمال من الغسيل كل أسبوع. هذا يترجم إلى حوالي 660 مليون حمولة كل عام ، أو 1,000 حمولة بدأت كل ثانية في أمريكا.

ما هو الجزء الأكثر كثافة للكربون في غسيل الملابس؟

في البودكاست ، أجرى جلادويل مقابلة مع رئيس قسم أمريكا الشمالية في شركة بروكتر آند جامبل لأبحاث وتطوير العناية بالأقمشة ، تود كلين ، أو "خبير الغسيل الأمريكي". عند البحث في البصمة الكربونية لكل منتج من منتجات الغسيل ، وجد Klien أن "مرحلة استخدام المنتج" ، أو طقوس غسيل المستهلك ، تشكل ثلثي الأثر البيئي. تأتي غالبية هذه البصمة من الطاقة المستخدمة لتسخين الماء.

نظرًا لأن المواد الخام وتصنيع وشحن منظفات الغسيل غير مهمة نسبيًا مقارنة بالطاقة المستخدمة لتسخين المياه ، خلص جلادويل إلى أن "التأثير البيئي لحمولة الغسيل هو ما نفعله نحن ، الناس في المنزل". هذا صحيح يا رفاق ، عندما يتعلق الأمر بالغسيل ، نحن يستطيع اتخاذ الخيارات التي تحدث فرقا.

لماذا يبقيه باردا؟

استخدام الماء البارد يوفر 90٪ من الطاقة في مرحلة الاستخدام (Energy Star). كما أنه يساعد على بقاء ملابسك لفترة أطول ويقلل من نزيف الألوان وبهتها. لذلك لن توفر الطاقة فحسب ، بل ستبدو أكثر أناقة عند القيام بذلك!

هل المنظفات هي التي تحدد الحشمة المناخية؟

وفقًا لكلين ، تستخدم المنظفات مواد خافضة للتوتر السطحي والبوليمرات التي تساعد على التقاط البقعة وسحبها إلى الماء ، ثم استخدام الإنزيمات لتفكيك الأنواع المختلفة من البقع. يجب صياغة هذه الإنزيمات خصيصًا للمياه الباردة حتى تكون فعالة في تنظيف الملابس. تتباطأ التفاعلات الكيميائية بين المنظفات والبقع بشكل كبير مع انخفاض درجة الحرارة ، لذلك طور المهندسون منظفات خاصة للغسيل بالماء البارد.

لذلك ، فإن التركيبات "الطبيعية" للعديد من منتجات الغسيل ذات اللون الأخضر قد تكون في الواقع أسوأ في تنظيف الأحمال في الماء البارد من تلك التقليدية.

لكن ماذا عن الرغوة؟

لقد رأيت منظفات تتفاخر بوجود رغوة منخفضة ، أو غيرها من المنظفات التي تظهر فقاعات إضافية على العبوة. يعود الجدل حول رغوة الصابون إلى نوع الغسالة التي لديك. تم تصميم المنظفات العادية لمزيد من المياه ، مما ينتج عنه فقاعات صابون أكثر من التركيبات عالية الكفاءة (HE). تحتوي معظم الغسالات عالية الكفاءة على مستشعرات تستشعر وجود رغوة في نهاية دورة الشطف. إذا كان هناك أي شيء ، فسوف يقوم بشطفه مرة أخرى ، باستخدام ماء إضافي لمزيد من رغوة الصابون. على الرغم من أن كل هذه الفقاعات تبدو أكثر نظافة ، إلا أن رغوة أقل عادة ما تكون أفضل لأن الكثير منها يمكنه إعادة التربة إلى ملابسك بعد التجفيف (The Laundry Project).

لذا ، ماذا نعرف؟

الطريقة الوحيدة لجعل المنظفات مستدامة حقًا هي أن تعمل في الماء البارد.

الغسل بالماء البارد هو أفضل ممارسة يمكنك القيام بها بعد تحديث أجهزتك إلى أجهزة موفرة للطاقة! بمجرد التبديل من ضغطة زر إلى أخرى ، يمكنك توفير 90٪ من طاقتك ، وتقليل انبعاثات الكربون ، وتوفير المال على فواتير الخدمات وإطالة عمر ملابسك! انها حقا بهذه السهولة.

نصائح الغسيل المستدامة الأخرى من Treehugger:

  • قم بتشغيل الأحمال الكاملة كلما أمكن ذلك

تستخدم الآلات نفس القدر من الطاقة تقريبًا بغض النظر عن حجم الحمولة ، لذا املأها. هذا يمكن أن يوفر على منزلك 99 رطلاً من انبعاثات ثاني أكسيد الكربون كل عام!

  • إذا كان جهازك يحتوي على واحد ، فاستخدم خيار الدوران العالي.

إذا كنت تستخدم مجففًا ، فهذا يقلل من كمية الرطوبة في ملابسك عند تحميلها ، مما يقلل الوقت والطاقة اللازمتين لتجفيفها.

  • علق ملابسك لتجف ، إذا أمكن.

هذا يمكن أن يوفر على منزلك ما يصل إلى 700 رطل من انبعاثات ثاني أكسيد الكربون سنويًا ، بالإضافة إلى 75 دولارًا من فاتورة المرافق الخاصة بك.

  • قم بتحديث أجهزتك إلى نماذج أكثر كفاءة في استخدام الطاقة.

تحقق مع شركة مرافق الطاقة الخاصة بك من الحسومات المتاحة لتحديث أجهزتك.

Recently, I listened to Malcom Gladwell’s Pushkin Industries Podcast on the most sustainable way to wash our clothes. It had me wondering, what is sustainable laundry detergent? Does washing with cold water really get my clothes clean?

With so many products in packaged in beautiful shades of green and nature patterns these days, it’s hard to know what products to trust with our dirty laundry.

Malcom’s podcast reflected on the early days of laundry with washing boards, clothes lines and homemade soaps. Ideally, we would all bring our loads to the river to wash with natural soaps and hang them to dry, then bask in the glow of a carbon-neutral wash. But this labor and time-intensive practice isn’t realistic for most of us. Truth be told, I’m quite grateful for the magic of our machines. My trusty front loader can soak, remove stains and rinse my garments all with the push of a button.

Things sure have gotten easier, but the water and energy usage add up.

According to The Laundry Project, The average American family does 8-10 loads of laundry every week. That translates to around 660 million loads every year, or 1,000 loads started every second in America.

What is the most carbon-intensive part of washing clothes?

In the podcast, Gladwell interviewed P&G’s North American section head for Fabric Care research and development, Tod Klien, or “the guru of American laundry”. When researching the carbon footprint of each laundry product, Klien found that the “product use phase”, or consumer laundry rituals, makes up two-thirds of environmental impact. The majority of this footprint comes from the energy used to heat the water.

Because the raw materials, manufacturing and shipment of laundry detergent is relatively insignificant in comparison with energy used to heat water, Gladwell concluded that “the environmental impact of a load of laundry turns out to be what we, the people at home, do.” That’s right folks, when it comes to laundry, we can make choices that make a difference.

Why Keep it Cold?

Using cold water saves 90% of energy in the use phase (Energy Star). It also helps your clothes last longer and reduces colors bleeding and fading. So not only will you be saving energy, you’ll look more stylish doing it!

Does Detergent Determine Climate Decency?

According to Klien, detergents use surfactants and polymers that help to capture the stain and draw it into the water, then use enzymes to break down the different types of stains. These enzymes must be be formulated specifically for cold water in order to be effective at cleaning clothes. The chemical reactions between detergent and stains slow down significantly as the temperature drops, so engineers have developed detergents specifically for washing with cold water.

Therefore, the “natural” formulas of many green-washed washing products might actually be worse at cleaning your loads in cold water than conventional ones.

But What About the Suds?

You have have seen detergents boasting about low suds, or others that show extra bubbles on the packaging. The suds debate largely comes down to the type of washing machine you have. Regular detergents are designed for more water, generating more soap bubbles than the high efficiency (HE) formulas. Most high-efficiency washing machines have sensors that sense for suds at the end of the rinse cycle. If there are any, it will do another rinse, using extra water for more suds. While all those bubbles make seem cleaner, less suds are usually better because too many can reposit soils back onto your clothing after drying (The Laundry Project).

So, what do we know?

The only way for detergents to truly be sustainable is if they function in cold water.

Washing in cold water is the best practice you can do after updating your appliances to energy efficient ones! By just switching from one button push to another, you can save 90% of your energy, reduce your carbon footprint, save money on utility bills and extend the life of your clothing! It really is that easy.

Other sustainable laundry tips from Treehugger:

  • Run full loads whenever possible

Machines use about the same amount of energy regardless of load size, so fill ‘em up. This could save your house 99 pounds of carbon dioxide emissions each year!

  • If your machine has one, use the high-spin option.

If you use a dryer, this reduces the amount of moisture in your clothes when loading them, cutting the time and energy needed to dry them.

  • Hang your clothes to dry, if possible.

This could save your house up to 700 pounds of carbon dioxide emissions a year, plus $75 bucks on your utility bill.

  • Update your appliances to more energy efficient models.

Check with your energy utility company what rebates are available for updating your appliances.