تاريخياً ، تم بناء معظم المباني الشاهقة من الخرسانة والصلب والزجاج.

هذه المواد قوية ومتوفرة على نطاق واسع وسهلة الاستخدام ؛ خاصة الخرسانة التي ستأخذ شكل أي قالب تصبه فيه. ازداد ارتفاع المباني أيضًا منذ أوائل القرن العشرين بفضل الأساليب الجديدة التي حسنت من قوة صلب وملموس ، ولكن هذه القوة والراحة المضافة كان لهما تكلفة.

خرسانة و صلب الإنتاج مسؤول عن مجموع 16٪ من انبعاثات غازات الاحتباس الحراري العالمية. يتم إطلاق معظم هذه الانبعاثات أثناء معالجة المواد ؛ يتم خلالها تسخين المواد الخام إلى آلاف درجات فهرنهايت من أجل الإنتاج صلب و أسمنت بورتلاند (عنصر مهم في الخرسانة).

مع وجود أهداف مناخية وطنية عدوانية تلوح في الأفق ، هناك الكثير من الفرص للتغيير الإيجابي في صناعة البناء. لقد تم إيلاء الكثير من الاهتمام لكفاءة الطاقة (وهي محقة في ذلك) ، لكننا نحتاج أيضًا إلى التركيز على الانبعاثات المنبعثة من إنتاج ونقل مواد البناء نفسها. هذه الفئة من الانبعاثات تسمى الكربون المتجسد 28٪ من إجمالي انبعاثات المباني.

حل عمره مليون عام

لحسن الحظ ، هناك مادة يمكن أن تساعدنا في حل هذه المشكلة. المواد منخفضة التكلفة وسهلة النقل ولا تتطلب أفران صهر متعددة آلاف الدرجات لإنتاجها. بل إنه في الواقع يمتص الكربون ويخزنه أثناء عملية "الإنتاج". ربما تكون قد صادفت هذه المادة من قبل. إنه في منزلك ، إنه في شارعك ، وقد تم استخدامه لبناء الأشياء لآلاف السنين.

هذه المادة منخفضة الكربون هي الخشب.

كومة من جذوع الأشجاريفتح ملف IMAGE

إن تقنيات الأخشاب الجماعية المبتكرة قادرة على تحويل جذوع الأشجار مثل هذه إلى مادة سليمة من الناحية الهيكلية مثل الفولاذ

اعتاد الخشب أن يكون مادة البناء المفضلة للعديد من المدن حول العالم ، لكن المخاوف بشأن القابلية للاشتعال وظهور مواد جديدة تسببت في قيام البناة والمهندسين المعماريين بالتخلص منها تدريجياً.

ومع ذلك ، فإن وود يعود إلى الظهور. تعتبر زراعة الأشجار أقل استهلاكًا للطاقة بكثير من إنتاج الفولاذ والخرسانة ، ويمكن أن يكون للخشب بصمة كربونية سلبية عندما تفكر في كمية الكربون التي يمتصها ويخزنها.

وفقًا لـ Circular Ecology's قاعدة بيانات البصمة الكربونية المجسدةينتج عن إنتاج كيلوغرام من الخشب ثلث انبعاثات الكمية المعادلة من الفولاذ أو الزجاج ونصف انبعاثات كمية معادلة من الخرسانة. كما ينتهي الأمر بالعديد من منتجات الأخشاب إلى كونها سالبة للكربون لأنها تمتص المزيد من ثاني أكسيد الكربون2 عندما تنمو أكثر مما يتم إطلاقها أثناء المعالجة والنقل.

لكن هناك بعض المخاوف ...

لقد ثبت جيدًا أن الخشب يحتوي على كربون أقل من الخرسانة والصلب ، ولكن قبل أن نتوج بالخشب مادة بناء المستقبل ، يجب علينا معالجة بعض المخاوف التي تسببت في سقوط الخشب من المباني الرئيسية في المقام الأول.

أكبر مصدر قلق بشأن الخشب هو القابلية للاشتعال. الخشب قابل للاشتعال للغاية ، وقبل أن تصبح الخرسانة والصلب معيارًا ، واجهت العديد من المدن حول العالم حرائق كارثية (لا سيما حريق شيكاغو العظيم عام 1871 والذي قتل ما يقرب من 300 شخص وتسبب في أضرار بأكثر من 200 مليون دولار) التي دمرت مبانيهم الخشبية ودمرت منازلهم وأماكن عملهم.

كما أن هناك مخاوف بشأن الاستقرار. نعم ، الخشب رائع من وجهة نظر الكربون المتجسد ، ولكن على مدى الكثير من التاريخ ، لم يكن الخشب قويًا بما يكفي لدعم المباني المكونة من أكثر من بضعة طوابق.

كتلة الأخشاب

أدخل مادة بناء جديدة تسمى كتلة الخشب.

تم تطوير الأخشاب الجماعية (اختصارًا للأخشاب الضخمة) في دولة النمسا ذات الغابات الكثيفة في تسعينيات القرن العشرين بواسطة جيرهارد شيخوفر. أراد Schickhofer إيجاد طريقة لاستخدام موارد البلاد الوفيرة والمتجددة لبناء مبانٍ أطول ، لذلك طور منتجًا يتكون من عدة عوارض من الخشب تم لصقها معًا بنمط التظليل المتقاطع.

هذه المادة ، التي تسمى الخشب الرقائقي المتقاطع (أو CLT) ، حققت جميع أهداف Schickhofer. كما أنها كانت رائدة في صناعة الأخشاب الجماعية والتي تتكون الآن من CLT ، و Nail Laminated Timber ، و Dowel Laminated Timber ، و Glue Laminated Timber (أو Glulam) من بين المواد الناشئة الأخرى.

شعاع من الخشب الرقائقي المتقاطعيفتح ملف IMAGE

تصنع عوارض الخشب الرقائقي المتقاطع (CLT) من ألواح خشبية ملصوقة ومضغوطة معًا بنمط التظليل المتقاطع. مصدر الصورة: APA - The Engineered Wood Association

هذه المواد متحمل, مرنو مقاوم للحرائق وتمثل مستقبل المباني الصديقة للبيئة.

فوائد أخرى للأخشاب الجماعية

توفر CLT وأنواع أخرى من الأخشاب الجماعية العديد من المزايا الأخرى. إنها تجعل عملية البناء أسرع وأسهل بكثير لأنها تسمح ببناء الألواح والعوارض بأحجام وأطوال محددة للغاية خارج الموقع. بالنسبة الى إعادة التفكير في الخشبيفتح ملف PDF ، المباني الخشبية الجماعية هي تقريبًا "أسرع بنسبة 25٪ في الإنشاء من مشروع مماثل في الخرسانة" وتتطلب "90٪ أقل من حركة البناء."

إن عملية البناء الفعالة هذه إلى جانب تكاليف المواد المنخفضة تجعل الهياكل الخشبية الجماعية ذات تكلفة تنافسية ، وحتى أرخص من البناء التقليدي للصلب والخرسانة. أ تحليل مقارنيفتح ملف PDF التي أجرتها WoodWorks في عام 2015 ، وجدت أن "المكاتب الخشبية أقل تكلفة بنسبة 20-30٪ للقدم المربع من المكاتب غير الخشبية."

مبنى داخلي من الخشب المكشوفيفتح ملف IMAGE

أظهرت العديد من الدراسات أن الخشب المكشوف في المساحات الداخلية للمباني مهدئ وجيد لصحتنا العقلية

تعمل المواد الخشبية الضخمة أيضًا على تمكين المهندسين المعماريين والمصممين من إنشاء مبانٍ جذابة من الناحية الجمالية تجلب المزيد من العناصر الطبيعية إلى مدننا الصناعية. شكل ومظهر الخشب المكشوف - وغير ذلك تصميم biophilic مبادئ أن البناء بالخشب يشجع - يقلل من التوتر ويحسن الرفاهية وفقًا لآخر دراسةيفتح ملف PDF by منتجات الغابات والأخشاب أستراليا.

مصادر

التحذير الرئيسي هنا هو أن خشب الألواح والعوارض الخشبية المستخدمة في البناء يحتاج إلى مصادر مستدامة. يمثل تدهور الغابات وإزالة الغابات دائمًا تهديدًا ، وإذا أدى حصاد الأخشاب من أجل CLT إلى تدهور الغابات وتدميرها ، فقد لا تفوق الفوائد البيئية العيوب.

لحسن الحظ ، هذه ليست مشكلة كبيرة ، حيث أن معظم البنائين والمهندسين المعماريين الذين يستخدمون CLT ومنتجات الأخشاب الجماعية الأخرى يضعون الاستدامة في الاعتبار. يمكن أن تعتمد الشركات المصنعة للأخشاب الجماعية أيضًا على المنظمات غير الربحية مثل مجلس رعاية الغابات (FSC) لتدقيق الغابات بشكل مستقل والتأكد من إدارتها بشكل مسؤول.

يستخدم العديد من البنائين والمهندسين المعماريين أيضًا الأخشاب من المصادر المحلية.

واستشرافا للمستقبل

على الرغم من التقدم الذي تم إحرازه مؤخرًا ، لا يزال هناك عدد من العقبات التي تحول دون تحول الأخشاب الجماعية إلى مادة بناء مقبولة ومستخدمة على نطاق واسع.

كانت قوانين البناء التي تم وضعها في عصر الخرسانة والصلب بطيئة التغيير ، كما فعل العديد من البنائين والمهندسين المعماريين الذين كانوا يبنون بالخرسانة والصلب طوال حياتهم المهنية.

يعد توفر المادة أيضًا مشكلة نظرًا لأن مصانع المعالجة واسعة النطاق اللازمة لجعل الأخشاب الجماعية خيارًا أكثر قابلية للتطبيق فقط بدأت للتو ليتم بناؤه.

ومع ذلك ، بدأ البناؤون والمهندسون المعماريون ومنظمات اعتماد المباني الخضراء في ملاحظة وإدماج الأخشاب الجماعية وغيرها من المواد منخفضة الكربون في شهاداتهم. وخير مثال على ذلك هو شهادة LEED.

يوفر برنامج شهادة LEED يروّج لاستخدام هذه المواد من خلال تضمين "المواد والموارد" كإحدى فئات الائتمان الرئيسية. يمكن أن يساعد البناء باستخدام كتلة من الخشب في تحقيق هذه الكفاءة من خلال "المصادر المسؤولة للمواد الخام" الإئتمان.

يمكن أن يقطع التضمين في LEED وبرامج الشهادات الأخرى شوطًا طويلاً نحو دمج هذه المواد في المنازل ومباني المكاتب الأصغر.

على واجهة ناطحة السحاب ، تستمر المباني الخشبية الأطول والأكثر ارتفاعًا في الظهور في جميع أنحاء العالم. أطول مبنى خشبي في العالم ، يبلغ ارتفاعه 85.4 مترًا Mjøstårnet بواسطة Voll Arkitekter في Brumunddal ، النرويج ، تم الانتهاء منه مؤخرًا ، ومن المقرر أن يتفوق عليه 25 طابق صعود المبنى في ميلووكي بولاية ويسكونسن عام 2022.

تكتسب منتجات الأخشاب الضخمة شعبية سريعة في جميع أنحاء العالم حيث يعمل البناة والمهندسون المعماريون على تصميم وبناء المباني الصديقة للبيئة في المستقبل.

 

إذا كنت مهتمًا بدمج الأخشاب الجماعية أو غيرها من مواد البناء منخفضة الكربون في مشروع LEED المعتمد أو أي مشروع مبنى أخضر آخر (مثل Passive House أو ENERGY STAR) ، فاتصل بنا فريق بناء عالي الأداء!

تعرف على المزيد حول مستقبل الأداء العالي وصناعة المباني الخضراء في المستقبل حدث لوحة افتراضية!

 

المزيد من موارد الأخشاب الجماعية

https://www.thinkwood.com/

https://www.vox.com/energy-and-environment/2020/1/15/21058051/climate-change-building-materials-mass-timber-cross-laminated-clt

Historically, most tall buildings have been built out of concrete, steel, and glass.

These materials are strong, widely available, and easy to work with; especially concrete which will take the shape of any mold you pour it into. Buildings have also been growing taller since the early 1900s thanks to new methods that improved the strength of steel and concrete, but this added strength and convenience has come with a cost.

Concrete and steel production are responsible for a combined 16% of global greenhouse gas emissions. Most of these emissions are released during material processing; during which raw materials must be heated to thousands of degrees Fahrenheit in order to produce steel and Portland cement (an important ingredient in concrete).

With aggressive national climate goals on the horizon, there’s plenty of opportunity for positive change in the building industry. A lot of attention has been given to energy efficiency (and rightfully so), but we also need to focus on emissions released from the production and transportation of building materials themselves. This category of emissions, called embodied carbon, accounts for 28% of total building emissions.

A Million-Year-Old Solution

Luckily, there is a material out there that can help us with this issue. The material is low cost, easy to transport, and doesn’t require multi-thousand-degree blast furnaces to produce. In fact, it even sucks in carbon and stores it during the “production” process. You’ve probably encountered this material before. It’s in your house, it’s on your street, and it has been used to build things for thousands of years.

This low-carbon material is wood.

A pile of logs

Innovative mass timber techniques are able to turn logs like these into a material as structurally sound as steel

Wood used to be the building material of choice for many cities around the world, but concerns over flammability and the emergence of new materials caused builders and architects to phase it out.

Wood is making a comeback though. Growing trees is much less energy intensive than producing steel and concrete, and wood can even have a negative carbon footprint when you consider the amount of carbon it absorbs and stores.

According to Circular Ecology’s Embodied Carbon Footprint Database, producing a kilogram of wood generates one third the emissions of the equivalent amount of steel or glass, and one half the emissions of an equivalent amount of concrete. Many timber products also actually end up being carbon negative, as they absorb more C02 when they grow than is released during processing and transportation.

But There Are Some Concerns…

It’s well established that wood has less embodied carbon than concrete and steel, but before we crown wood the building material of the future we must address some of the concerns that caused wood to fall out of mainstream building in the first place.

The biggest concern about wood is flammability. Wood is very flammable, and before concrete and steel became standard, many cities around the world were faced with catastrophic fires (notably the great Chicago fire of 1871 that killed close to 300 people and caused over $200 million in damage) that ravaged their wooden buildings, destroying homes and workplaces.

There are also concerns about stability. Yes, wood is great from an embodied carbon standpoint, but for much of history, wood hasn’t been strong enough to support buildings of more than a few stories.

Mass Timber

Enter a new building material called mass timber.

Mass timber (short for massive timber) was developed in the heavily wooded country of Austria in the 1990’s by Gerhard Schickhofer. Schickhofer wanted to find a way to use the country’s plentiful and renewable resource to build taller buildings, so he developed a product that consisted of multiple beams of wood glued together in a crosshatch pattern.

This material, called cross laminated timber (or CLT), achieved all of Schickhofer’s goals. It also pioneered the Mass Timber industry which now consists of CLT, Nail Laminated Timber, Dowel Laminated Timber, and Glue Laminated Timber (or Glulam) among other emerging materials.

A cross laminated timber beam

These cross laminated timber (CLT) beams are made of wooden boards glued and pressed together in a crosshatch pattern. Photo Credits: APA — The Engineered Wood Association

These materials are durable, resilient, and fire resistant and represent the future of environmentally friendly building.

Other Mass Timber Benefits

CLT and other types of mass timber also offer many other advantages. They make the building process much faster and easier as they allow slabs and beams to be built to very specific sizes and lengths off site. According to reThink Wood, mass timber buildings are roughly “25% faster to construct than a similar project in concrete” and require “90% less construction traffic.”

This efficient building process along with lower material costs make mass timber structures cost competitive, and even cheaper than traditional steel and concrete construction. A comparative analysis conducted by WoodWorks in 2015, found that “wood offices are 20-30% less expensive per square foot than non-wood offices.”

A building interior with exposed wood

Numerous studies have shown that exposed wood in building interiors is calming and good for our mental health

Mass timber materials also empower architects and designers to create aesthetically appealing buildings that bring more natural elements into our artificial metropolises. The look and feel of exposed wood—and other biophilic design principals that building with wood encourages—reduces stress and improves wellbeing according to a recent study by Forest and Wood Products Australia.

Sourcing

The major caveat here is that the wood for mass timber panels and beams that are used in construction needs to be sustainably sourced. Forest degradation and deforestation are always a threat, and if harvesting timber for CLT degrades and ruins forests, the environmental benefits may not outweigh the drawbacks.

Fortunately, this isn’t much of an issue, as most builders and architects who use CLT and other mass timber products have sustainability in mind. Mass timber manufacturers can also depend on nonprofit organizations like the Forest Stewardship Council (FSC) to independently audit forests and certify that they are being managed responsibly.

Many builders and architects are also using timber from local sources.

Looking Ahead

Despite recent progress, there are still a number of obstacles that stand in the way of mass timber becoming a more widely accepted and used building material.

Building codes that were established in the era of concrete and steel have been slow to change, as have many builders and architects who have been building with concrete and steel for their whole careers.

Availability of the material is also an issue as the large-scale processing plants needed to make mass timber a more viable option have only just begun to be built.

Nevertheless, builders, architects, and green building certification organizations are beginning to take notice and incorporate mass timber and other low-embodied-carbon materials into their certifications. A prime example of this is LEED certification.

The LEED certification program promotes the use of these materials by including “materials and resources” as one of its main credit categories. Building with mass timber can help achieve this competency through the “responsible sourcing of raw materials” credit.

Inclusion in LEED and other certification programs can go a long way towards incorporating these materials into homes and smaller office buildings.

On the skyscraper front, taller and taller mass timber buildings are continuing to pop up all over the world. The world’s tallest timber building, the 85.4-meter Mjøstårnet by Voll Arkitekter in Brumunddal, Norway, was recently completed, and is set to be surpassed by the 25 story Ascent building in Milwaukee, Wisconsin in 2022.

Mass timber products are quickly gaining popularity worldwide as builders and architects work to design and build the eco-friendly buildings of the future.

 

If you are interested in incorporating mass timber or other low-embodied-carbon building materials into a LEED certified or other green building project (like Passive House or ENERGY STAR), contact our high performance building team!

Learn more about the future of the high performance and green building industry at our upcoming virtual panel event!

 

More Mass Timber Resources

https://www.thinkwood.com/

https://www.vox.com/energy-and-environment/2020/1/15/21058051/climate-change-building-materials-mass-timber-cross-laminated-clt