أعلاه صورة لمبريارد - مجمع سكني ميسور التكلفة يقع في قلب نورثهامبتون ، ماساتشوستس. للوهلة الأولى ، قد يبدو مثل أي مجمع سكني جديد ، ولكن هذا المبنى عبارة عن مبنى متعدد العائلات عالي الكفاءة في استخدام الطاقة. تم قياس كفاءة Lumberyard باستخدام نظام تصنيف الطاقة المنزلية (HERS) ، وهو نظام معترف به وطنياً لقياس وحساب أداء الطاقة في المبنى. حقق الطابقان الأول والرابع من The Lumberyard درجة HERS البالغة 39 بينما حقق الطابقان الثاني والثالث درجة 40. لوضع ذلك في المنظور الصحيح ، يُمنح المنزل القياسي الجديد الذي تم بناؤه للرمز عادةً درجة 100.

كلما كانت درجة HERS أقل ، كلما كان المبنى أكثر كفاءة في استخدام الطاقة. لذلك ، فإن المبنى بدرجة 40 هو أكثر كفاءة في استخدام الطاقة بنسبة 60٪ من المنزل الجديد القياسي! لزيادة كفاءة المبنى وخفض درجة HERS ، يمكن للمُنشئ تركيب أنظمة إضاءة موفرة للطاقة ومعدات تدفئة وتهوية وتكييف فعالة. يمكن تعريف مبنى متعدد العائلات ، يُنظر إليه عادةً في ولاية ماساتشوستس على أنه مبنى به أكثر من 5 وحدات ، مع درجة HERS منخفضة مثل Lumberyard يمكن تعريفها على نطاق أوسع على أنها مبنى عالي الأداء.

تمثل المباني عالية الأداء متعددة العائلات بالتأكيد تحديات فريدة مقارنة بالمباني عالية الأداء الخاصة بأسرة واحدة. عادة ما يكون هناك العديد من المهندسين المعماريين والمهندسين والمطورين والمستثمرين المشاركين في مشاريع متعددة العائلات ، مما يتطلب إنشاء خطوط اتصال جيدة منذ البداية. بمجرد بدء عملية البناء ، يكون التعاون بين مجموعات مختلفة من الأشخاص ضروريًا للتخطيط بعناية لتكامل الأنظمة الميكانيكية الفعالة. صرح مارك نيوي ، أحد المراجعين الثلاثة لـ HERS في فريق البناء عالي الأداء التابع لمركز EcoTechnology ، أنه "من المهم التعرف على أي مشكلات في الخطط قبل بدء البناء نظرًا لأن كل شيء يتم استبعاده من مستندات البناء هذه" وفي الوقت نفسه ، مع منازل الأسرة الواحدة ، يكون من الأسهل بكثير حل أي مشاكل عند ظهورها. يتفق John Saveson ، مقيم HERS آخر في فريق CET's High Performance Building ، مع Newey ، قائلاً إن "المباني متعددة العائلات عادةً ما تحتوي على أنظمة ميكانيكية مركزية أكثر تعقيدًا يصعب تصميمها واختبارها."

يفتح ملف IMAGE

كيسي سيمبسون (يسار) ومارك نيوي (يمين) يجريان اختبار باب المنفاخ في مبنى.

على الرغم من التحديات التي تطرحها المشاريع متعددة العائلات للبناة ومقيّمي HERS على حدٍ سواء ، تزداد شعبية المباني متعددة العائلات مع ازدياد كثافة المدن ويبحث المستأجرون عن خيارات سكنية ميسورة التكلفة. يمتلك المجلس الوطني للإسكان متعدد العائلات (NMHC) أ أدوات القدرة على تحمل تكاليف الإسكان الذي يتضمن أ فوائد تعدد العائلات القطاع الثامن. يسلط NMHC الضوء على الفوائد البيئية للمباني متعددة العائلات ، مشيرًا إلى أن كثافة الطاقة لبناء وحدة فردية أقل بشكل ملحوظ وأن هناك حاجة إلى طاقة أقل للحفاظ على الوحدات الفردية بمرور الوقت. مع زيادة الطلب على المباني متعددة العائلات ، يقوم بعض البنائين بدمج معايير بناء عالية الأداء لزيادة هذه الفوائد.

يفتح ملف IMAGE

سكن Leyden Woods ميسور التكلفة ، معتمد من ENERGY STAR. مجتمع بناة المجتمع ، وشركة جرينفيلد ، ماساتشوستس.

حصلت Newey مؤخرًا على اتفاقية مع شركة Valley Community Development Corporation (Valley CDC) لمشروع مكون من 28 وحدة يسعى للحصول على شهادة Passive House. الهدف من Passive House هو جعل معدات التدفئة والتهوية وتكييف الهواء التقليدية قديمة من خلال تشييد مبنى يتطلب الحد الأدنى من الطاقة لتحقيق درجة حرارة مريحة على مدار العام. سيشارك فريق المبنى عالي الأداء في CET في كل خطوة على طول الطريق ، بدءًا من الاختبارات التشخيصية والميكانيكية وحتى عملية الاعتماد. صرح Newey أنه متحمس بشكل خاص لهذا المشروع لأنه ، بينما كان يعمل مع Valley CDC على مر السنين ، كان هذا هو أول مشروع Passive House عمل معهم. لقد حصلت Newey بالفعل على بداية سريعة في العملية وتعمل على دراسة جدوى البيت السلبي لتحديد مقدار العزل ومستوى الكفاءة التي تتطلبها الميزات الأخرى للمبنى للوفاء بمعايير شهادة Passive House.

لمعرفة المزيد عن خدمات ومشاريع البناء عالية الأداء في CET ، اضغط هنا!

Above is an image of The Lumberyard – an affordable housing complex located in the heart of Northampton, Massachusetts. At first glance, it may look like any new apartment complex, but this building is a highly energy efficient multifamily building. The efficiency of the Lumberyard was measured using the Home Energy Rating System (HERS), a nationally recognized system for measuring and calculating the energy performance of a building. The first and fourth floors of The Lumberyard achieved a HERS score of 39 while the second and third floors achieved a score of 40. To put that into perspective, a standard new home that is built to code is typically awarded a score of 100.

The lower the HERS score, the more energy efficient a building is. Therefore, a building with a score of 40 is 60% more energy efficient than a standard new home! To increase the efficiency of a building and lower the HERS score, a builder can install energy efficient lighting systems and efficient heating, ventilation, and air conditioning equipment. A multifamily building, typically considered in Massachusetts to be a building with more than 5 units, with a HERS score as low as The Lumberyard’s can be more broadly defined as a high performance building.

Multifamily high performance buildings certainly present unique challenges in comparison to single-family high performance buildings. There are typically multiple architects, engineers, developers, and investors involved in multifamily projects, requiring that good lines of communication are established from the very start. Once the construction process begins, collaboration between different groups of people are necessary to carefully plan out the integration of efficient mechanical systems. Mark Newey, one of three HERS raters on the Center for EcoTechnology’s High Performance Building Team, states that “it’s important to catch any issues in the plans before construction starts since everything is driven off those construction documents.” Meanwhile, with single-family homes, it is much easier to fix any problems as they emerge. John Saveson, another HERS rater on CET’s High Performance Building team, agrees with Newey, saying that “multifamily buildings usually have more complex central mechanical systems that are challenging to model and test.”

Casey Simpson (left) and Mark Newey (right) conducting a blower door test on a building.

In spite of the challenges that multifamily projects present to builders and HERS raters alike, multifamily buildings are becoming increasingly popular as cities become denser and tenants seek affordable housing options. The National Multifamily Housing Council (NMHC) has a Housing Affordability Toolkit which includes a Multifamily Benefits section. NMHC highlights the environmental benefits of multifamily buildings, stating that the energy intensity of constructing an individual unit is significantly lower and that less energy is required to maintain individual units over time. As demand for multifamily buildings increase, some builders are incorporating high performance building standards to increase these benefits.

Leyden Woods Affordable Housing, ENERGY STAR-certified. The Community Builders, Inc. Greenfield, MA.

Newey has recently secured an agreement with the Valley Community Development Corporation (Valley CDC) for a 28-unit project that is striving for a Passive House certification. The goal of Passive House is to make conventional heating, ventilation, and air conditioning equipment obsolete by constructing a building that will require minimal energy to achieve a comfortable temperature year-round. CET’s High Performance Building team will be involved in every step along the way, from the diagnostic and mechanical testing up to the certification process. Newey states that he is particularly excited for this project because, while he has worked with Valley CDC over the years, this is the first Passive House project he has worked on with them. Newey has already gotten a jump-start on the process and is working on the Passive House Feasibility Study to determine the amount of insulation and the level of efficiency other features of the building will require to meet Passive House certification standards.

To learn more about CET’s high performance building services and projects, click here!