مركز هيتشكوك للبيئة هو مركز تعليمي يهدف إلى تطوير علاقة أعمق بين البشر والعالم الطبيعي. مركز هيتشكوك هو مبنى معيشة معتمد يقع في حرم كلية هامبشاير في أمهيرست ، ويطل على سلسلة هوليوك.

يوفر مركز EcoTechnology كان قادرًا على مساعدة مركز هيتشكوك في قياس كفاءته في استخدام الطاقة من خلال إجراء اختبارات باب المنفاخ لتقييم مقاومة الهواء للمبنى أثناء البناء ومرة ​​أخرى بمجرد الانتهاء من المشروع. عقدت CET أيضًا شراكة مع مركز هيتشكوك لسنوات عديدة في العديد من الأحداث التعليمية والتوعية.

يفتح ملف IMAGE

قامت CET مؤخرًا بتيسير المناقشات وورش العمل حول كفاءة الطاقة ونفايات الطعام في قمة المناخ للشباب لعام 2019 التي عقدت في مركز هيتشكوك.

ما هو تحدي المبنى المعيشي؟

يعد تحدي البناء الحي أحد أكثر معايير البناء صرامة اليوم. يجب أن تكون المباني الحية مكتفية ذاتيًا وتستخدم الموارد المحلية فقط. بالإضافة إلى ذلك ، يجب أن يكون للمباني الحية تأثير إيجابي على الأشخاص الذين يشغلونها وكذلك البيئة المحيطة. تم تصميم معايير المبنى الحي كزهرة ، سواء من حيث الاكتفاء الذاتي أو بساطة الرمز. هناك 7 بتلات ، أو معايير بناء شاملة ، يجب أن يفي بها المبنى الحي وفقًا لـ معهد المستقبل الحي الدولي: المكان ، والمياه ، والطاقة ، والصحة ، والمواد ، والإنصاف ، والجمال. دعنا نستكشف كيف يلبي مركز هيتشكوك هذه المعايير بمزيد من التفصيل!

يفتح ملف IMAGE

المكان: استعادة العلاقة الصحية مع الطبيعة

لكسب بتلة المكان ، يحتاج المبنى إلى تحسين البيئة المحيطة. تم بناء مركز هيتشكوك في موقع بستان تفاح مهجور تغمره الأنواع الغازية. كانت التربة ملوثة بالزرنيخ من استخدام مبيدات الآفات على المدى الطويل خلال حياتها السابقة كبستان. كإجراء علاجي ، تمت إزالة التربة السطحية الملوثة ودفنها تحت ساحة انتظار السيارات. تم ترسيب التربة السطحية الصحية لتحل محلها ، وتم تنفيذ المناظر الطبيعية المحلية ، بما في ذلك الطيور المحلية وحديقة الملقحات ، وحديقة المطر ، والحوض الحيوي ، والأراضي الرطبة المبنية. وقوف السيارات المشتركة في كلية هامبشاير ، وخطوط الحافلات ، وشبكة من المسارات تحد من عدد السيارات القادمة إلى المبنى.

 

الماء: إحداث تطورات تعمل ضمن الميزان المائي لمكان معين ومناخ معين

يحقق المبنى صافي صفر للمياه عن طريق جمع مياه الأمطار من السطح كمصدر المياه الوحيد للمبنى بأكمله. ثم يتم ترشيح المياه في الطابق السفلي وتمريرها من خلال ضوء الأشعة فوق البنفسجية. كما يستخدم المركز مراحيض التسميد! تستخدم المراحيض الرغوة للشطف وتنقل الجاذبية النفايات الصلبة إلى حجرة في الطابق السفلي حيث يتم مزجها بنشارة الخشب ورقائق الخشب. يتم معالجة المياه الرمادية من خلال أرض رطبة مبنية. يتم التقاط جميع الجريان السطحي تقريبًا بواسطة نباتات المروج وسلسلة من حدائق المطر.

 

الطاقة: الاعتماد فقط على الدخل الشمسي الحالي

بالإضافة إلى كونه صافي صفر للمياه ، حقق مركز هيتشكوك صافي إنتاج إيجابي للطاقة في فترة أداء مدتها 12 شهرًا. اكتسب المركز طاقة من خلال استخدام الألواح الشمسية والحد الأدنى من استخدام الأنظمة الآلية. تعد مفاتيح الإضاءة ومراوح السقف والنوافذ يدوية حتى يتعلم الزوار إيقاف تشغيل الأجهزة الإلكترونية عندما لا تكون قيد الاستخدام. يستخدم المبنى تحكمًا سلبيًا في درجة الحرارة ، بمساعدة نظام آلي مدمج مع تهوية سلبية تشير إلى متى يمكن فتح النوافذ أو لا يمكن فتحها لمنطقة راحة محددة. نتيجة لذلك ، ينتج المبنى طاقة أكثر مما يستخدم!

 

الصحة والسعادة: تهيئة بيئات تعمل على تحسين الصحة البدنية والرفاهية

لا يتناغم المبنى مع البيئة المحيطة فحسب ، بل إنه أيضًا أداة تعليمية للمبادئ البيئية. عند المشي في المبنى ، تسمح النوافذ بالكثير من ضوء الشمس ، والوصول السلس إلى الهواء الطلق ، وإطلالات ساحرة على الطبيعة. تسهل المساحات الداخلية والخارجية الاستكشاف والتفاعل بين البشر والطبيعة. لضمان صحة زوارها ، تحافظ زوج من وحدات استعادة الطاقة (ERUs) على جودة الهواء الداخلي.

 

المواد: اعتماد المنتجات الآمنة لجميع الأنواع عبر الزمن

القائمة الحمراء يشجع البناة على تجنب بعض المواد والمواد الكيميائية التي لها آثار صحية سلبية ، مثل الأسبستوس والرصاص وبعض معالجات الأخشاب. علاوة على عدم التسبب في آثار ضارة على رفاهية الناس ، يجب الحصول على المواد بشكل مستدام. تم الحصول على غالبية المواد المستخدمة في مركز هيتشكوك ضمن دائرة نصف قطرها 300 ميل. المركز عبارة عن هيكل خشبي بالكامل من الأرز الأبيض الشرقي من مصادر محلية ويمكن تفكيكه لإعادة استخدامه في المستقبل. كانت المواد عبارة عن مزيج من المواد المعتمدة من مجلس الإشراف على الغابات (FSC) ، والمصادر المحلية ، والمواد التي تم إنقاذها. والنتيجة هي بناء من مصادر مسؤولة.

 

الإنصاف: دعم عالم عادل ومنصف

لا يتقاضى مركز هيتشكوك رسوم دخول وهو مورد عام لتعزيز محو الأمية البيئية. لكسر الحواجز الاقتصادية ، يتم تقديم الكثير من البرامج بدون تكلفة أو بتكلفة منخفضة ، وتتوفر المنح الدراسية. يمكن الوصول إلى المركز من خلال مجموعة متنوعة من وسائل النقل: السيارة والحافلة والدراجة والمواصلات العامة.

يفتح ملف IMAGE

الجمال: الاحتفال بالتصميم الذي يرفع الروح البشرية

يندمج المبنى الخشبي جيدًا مع النظام البيئي ، والسقف مغطى بألواح شمسية تمتص طاقة الشمس. صُمم المبنى على غرار زهرة على أنه "هيئة واحدة ذاتية التنظيم". من وجهة نظر جوية ، ينقسم المبنى إلى جناحين متوازيين ، مما يؤدي إلى إنشاء Den و Nest Courtyards. نظرًا لاتجاهه وموضعه ، يعرض كل من Den و Nest مناخين محليين مختلفين. يقع المدخل الرئيسي على الجانب الجنوبي وبجوار فناء Nest ، وهو مكان مشمس تزدهر فيه الأنواع الجافة بينما يطل على الأراضي المحمية وحيث توجد حديقة الملقحات. يقع Den بشكل مائل على الجانب الشمالي الغربي ، ويقع في جانب التل الظليل وتحيط به الأراضي الرطبة الربيعية والأشجار.

عند دخول المبنى ، يتم الترحيب بالزوار من خلال لوحة جدارية للمبادئ الستة للأنظمة الطبيعية بالإضافة إلى عرض للحيوانات الحية والتحنيط. يربط ecotone ، الذي يُعرّف على أنه انتقال بيئي ، بين الأجنحة الشمالية والجنوبية. إنه أيضًا المكان الذي يقع فيه مستجمعات المياه في المبنى. هناك أربعة خزانات شفافة تمتلئ عند هطول الأمطار موصولة بأنابيب ملونة تشير إلى مسار المياه عبر المبنى. يعزز تصوير نهر كونيتيكت على الأرضية الخرسانية الإحساس بالمكان أثناء البقاء ضمن موضوع الدورات الهيدرولوجية. تم وضع معايير تحدي المبنى الحي بطريقة تفاعلية في جميع أنحاء المبنى وتم دمجها في المناهج الدراسية للمركز. قم بزيارة مركز هيتشكوك لوحة القيادة التفاعلية للمبنى للحصول على التحديثات الحالية حول كيفية تفعيل هذه المعايير المختلفة عبر المبنى. معًا ، تترك هذه المعايير للزائرين شعورًا بالأمل لأن المبنى يمثل مثالًا على البشر الذين يعيشون في تعايش مع البيئة.

 

نحن نعمل على مشاريع عالية الأداء تمتد من ماساتشوستس وكونيتيكت ونيو هامبشاير ونيويورك. تمتد خدماتنا إلى كل من المباني السكنية والتجارية والتجديد والبناء الجديد. يعمل فريقنا على مجموعة متنوعة من المشاريع مثل Passive House و Net Zero Energy و HERS و LEED والمزيد! هل تحتاج إلى مساعدة في مشروع مبنى عالي الأداء؟ نستطيع المساعدة! اتصل بالرقم 888-452-8805 أو استخدم معلومات الاتصال.

The Hitchcock Center for the Environment is an educational center that aims to develop a deeper bond between humans and the natural world. The Hitchcock Center is a certified living building located on the Hampshire College campus in Amherst, overlooking the Holyoke Range.

The Center for EcoTechnology was able to help The Hitchcock Center measure their energy efficiency by performing blower door tests to assess the airtightness of the building during construction and again once the project was finished. CET has also partnered with The Hitchcock Center for many years on various educational and outreach events.

CET recently facilitated discussion and workshops around energy efficiency and food waste at the 2019 Youth Climate Summit held at the Hitchcock Center.

What is the Living Building Challenge?

The Living Building Challenge is one of the most rigorous building standards today. Living Buildings must be self-sufficient and use only local resources. In addition, Living Buildings are required to have a positive impact on the people that occupy them as well as the surrounding environment. The Living Building criteria is designed as a flower, both for its self-sufficiency and the simplicity of the symbol. There are 7 petals, or holistic building criteria, that a Living Building must meet according to the International Living Future Institute: place, water, energy, health, materials, equity, and beauty. Let’s explore how The Hitchcock Center meets these criteria in more detail!

Place: Restoring a healthy interrelationship with nature

To earn the place petal, a building needs to improve the surrounding environment. The Hitchcock Center was built on the site of an abandoned apple orchard engulfed by invasive species. The soils were contaminated with arsenic from long-term pesticide use during its former life as an orchard. As a remediation measure, the contaminated topsoil was removed and buried under the parking lot. Healthy topsoil was deposited to replace it, and native landscaping was implemented, including a native bird and pollinator garden, a rain garden, a bioswale, and a constructed wetland. Shared parking at Hampshire College, bus routes, and a network of trails limit the number of cars coming to the premises.

 

Water: Creating developments that operate within the water balance of a given place and climate

The building accomplishes net zero water by harvesting rainwater from the roof as the only water source for the entire building. The water is then filtered in the basement and passed through UV light. The Center also uses composting toilets! The toilets use foam to flush and gravity moves the solid waste to a chamber in the basement where it is mixed with sawdust and wood chips. The greywater is treated through a constructed wetland. Nearly all runoff is captured by meadow vegetation and a series of rain gardens.

 

Energy: Relying only on current solar income

In addition to being net zero water, the Hitchcock Center achieved net-positive energy production in a 12-month performance period. The Center earned its energy petal through the use of solar panels and minimal use of automated systems. Light switches, ceiling fans, and windows are manual so that visitors learn to turn off electronics when they are not in use. The building uses passive temperature control, assisted by an automated system incorporated with passive ventilation indicating when windows can and cannot be opened for a specified comfort zone. As a result, the building produces more energy than it uses!

 

Health & Happiness: Creating environments that optimize physical health and well being

Not only is the building in harmony with the surrounding environment, but it is also a teaching tool for environmental principles. Walking through the building, the windows allow for plenty of sunlight, seamless access to the outdoors, and mesmerizing views of nature. Indoor and outdoor spaces facilitate exploration and interaction between humans and nature. To assure the health of its visitors, a pair of Energy Recovery Units (ERUs) maintain indoor air quality.

 

Materials: Endorsing products that are safe for all species through time

The Red List encourages builders to avoid certain materials and chemicals that have negative health effects, such as asbestos, lead, and certain wood treatments. On top of not causing adverse effects on the wellbeing of people, the materials need to be sourced sustainably. The majority of the materials used in The Hitchcock Center were sourced within a 300-mile radius. The Center is an all-wood structure from locally sourced eastern white cedar and can be disassembled for reuse in the future. The materials were a combination of Forest Stewardship Council (FSC) Certified, locally sourced, and salvaged material. The result is a responsibly sourced building.

 

Equity: Supporting a just and equitable world

The Hitchcock Center does not charge an entry fee and is a public resource to promote environmental literacy. To break down economic barriers, much of the programming is offered at no or low-cost, and scholarships are available. The Center is accessible through a variety of transportation methods: car, bus, bicycle, and public transportation.

Beauty: Celebrating design that uplifts the human spirit

The wooden building blends well into the ecosystem, and the roof is covered in solar panels soaking up the sun’s energy. The building is modeled after a flower as, “a single self-regulating body.” From an aerial view, the building is split up into two parallel wings, creating the Den and Nest Courtyards. Due to its orientation and positioning, the Den and Nest display two different microclimates. The Main Entrance is on the south side and adjacent to the Nest courtyard, a sunny place for dry species to flourish while overlooking protected land and where the pollinator garden is housed. The Den is located diagonally on the northwest side, nestled into the shady hillside and surrounded by vernal wetlands and trees.

Entering the building, visitors are welcomed by a mural of the six principles of natural systems as well as a display of living and taxidermy animals. The ecotone, defined as an ecological transition, connects the northern and southern wings. It is also where the building’s watershed is located. There are four clear tanks that fill up when it rains connected to colored pipes that indicate the water’s route through the building. A depiction of the Connecticut river against the concrete floor reinforces a sense of place while staying within the theme of hydrological cycles. The criteria of the Living Building Challenge are laid out in an interactive way throughout the building and are incorporated into the curriculum of the Center. Visit The Hitchcock Center’s interactive building dashboard for current updates on how these different criteria are coming into play across the building.  Together, these criteria leave visitors with a sense of hope because the building represents an example of humans living in symbiosis with the environment.

 

We work on high performance projects spanning from Massachusetts, Connecticut, New Hampshire, and New York. Our services extend to both residential and commercial buildings, renovation and new construction. Our team works on a variety of projects such as Passive House, Net Zero Energy, HERS, LEED, and more! Need help with a High Performance Building project? We can help! Call 888-452-8805 or use our Contact Form.