منشور المدونة هذا هو نظرة عامة على حدثنا الافتراضي الأخير بعنوان "بناء مستقبل مستدام". يمكن العثور على تسجيل للحدث في أسفل هذه الصفحة.

إن الطريقة التي نختار بها تصميم وبناء مباني المستقبل سيكون لها تأثير كبير على استخدام الطاقة ورفاهية الركاب. في الولايات المتحدة ، تمثل المباني ما يقرب من 40% من إجمالي استهلاك الطاقة ، 73% من استهلاك الكهرباء ، و 14% من استهلاك المياه لدينا: يمكن أن يساعدنا تصميم المباني الفعالة في تقليل استهلاك الطاقة لدينا والحفاظ على بصمتنا الكربونية منخفضة

الأمريكيون أيضا يقضون في الأنحاء 90% من وقتهم في الداخل (وربما أكثر من ذلك منذ بداية الوباء) ، وتصميم هذه الأماكن حيث نقضي معظم حياتنا له القدرة على التأثير على صحتنا ورفاهيتنا.

هناك طريقة رائعة لضمان تشغيل المباني بكفاءة ، ولها بصمة منخفضة من الكربون ، وتعزيز الصحة والرفاهية ، وهي الحصول على اعتماد المشاريع من خلال برنامج شهادات البناء الذي يسعى جاهدًا لتحقيق هذه الأهداف.

LEED

أشهر هذه الشهادات هي "الريادة في الطاقة والتصميم البيئي" ، أو LEED. تمتلك LEED معايير شهادات لجميع أنواع المشاريع من منازل الأسرة الواحدة إلى المشاريع الأكبر مثل المدارس ومباني المكاتب. هناك أيضًا برامج LEED للتصميم الداخلي وتطوير الأحياء وغير ذلك الكثير.

يفتح ملف IMAGE

تأخذ شهادة LEED العديد من العوامل في الاعتبار من الوصول إلى وسائل النقل إلى الطاقة والغلاف الجوي! اعتمادات الصورة: شركة Kent Hicks Construction Co.

تعمل غالبية المشاريع على تعزيز الكفاءة والرفاهية من خلال 6 فئات رئيسية: الموقع والنقل ، والمواقع المستدامة ، وجودة البيئة الداخلية ، وكفاءة استخدام المياه ، والمواد والموارد ، والطاقة والغلاف الجوي.

إن تحقيق الأهداف في هذه الفئات الرئيسية الست ، بالإضافة إلى أهداف برنامج LEED الأخرى مثل الابتكار والأولوية الإقليمية سيجعل المباني أكثر خضرة وأكثر استدامة.

البيت السلبي

معيار كفاءة البناء الشعبي الآخر هو البيت السلبي. إن Passive House هو معيار بناء يتمتع بكفاءة عالية في استخدام الطاقة ، ومريح ، وبأسعار معقولة في نفس الوقت.

تمامًا مثل شهادة LEED ، هناك معايير محددة يجب الوفاء بها والموافقة عليها من قبل مقيم معتمد من Passive House حتى يتأهل المبنى كمنزل غير فعال.

يفتح ملف IMAGE

البيت السلبي هو معيار بناء دولي عالي الأداء يركز حقًا على كفاءة الطاقة. تحقق من الندوة المرفقة عبر الويب للقيام بجولة في هذا المنزل السلبي الجميل من أليكسي أرانجو ، أستاذ الفيزياء المساعد في ماونت هوليوك! اعتمادات الصورة: Alexi Arango

هناك كيانان يقدمان شهادة Passive House، معهد باسيف هاوس (PHI) و معهد باسيف هاوس للولايات المتحدة (فيوس). يتمثل الاختلاف الأكبر بين الاثنين في أن PHIUS قد خصصت عتبات طلب التدفئة والتبريد اعتمادًا على مناخك ، بينما تفترض PHI مناخ شمال أوروبا.

هناك أربعة متطلبات البيت السلبي ملموسة، تهتم في الغالب بكفاءة الطاقة.

تحدي بناء المعيشة

أخيرًا هو تحدي بناء المعيشة (إل بي سي). تسعى المباني الحية إلى الحصول على طاقة صافية صفرية ، وخالية من المواد الكيميائية السامة ، وتقليل بصمة الطاقة الخاصة بها عدة مرات تحت الهيكل التجاري العام.

يفتح ملف IMAGE

مركز RW Kern هو مبنى حي معتمد في حرم كلية هامبشاير. واحد من 23 مبنى حي معتمد بالكامل ، The Kern Center يلبي معايير عالية للطاقة والمياه والمواد والمكان والجمال والإنصاف والصحة والسعادة. اعتمادات الصورة: مركز Kern

تحقق مشاريع LBC هذا الهدف من خلال الالتزام بـ 7 فئات أداء أو بتلات. هذه البتلات هي الطاقة والمياه والمواد والمكان والجمال والإنصاف والصحة والسعادة. تُستخدم البتلات لتمثيل مبنى فعال مثل الزهرة.

تأثير بيئي

هناك الكثير لنقوله حول كيفية تقليل معايير البناء هذه من التأثير البيئي للمباني ولكننا سنركز على مجالين - كفاءة الطاقة والكربون المتجسد.

يمكننا مقارنة كفاءة الطاقة لبرامج الشهادات هذه من خلال النظر في تقييماتها من المشاريع المنجزة. تصنيف HERS للمنزل هو مقياس لكفاءته في استخدام الطاقة ؛ كلما كانت النتيجة أقل كلما كان ذلك أفضل. تفحص ال موقعها الإلكتروني لمزيد من المعلومات حول نظام التصنيف.

بالنسبة لبعض السياق فقط ، فإن متوسط ​​المنزل الجديد في ماساتشوستس لديه تصنيف HERS يبلغ حوالي 70.

تختلف تصنيفات HERS للمباني المعتمدة من LEED كثيرًا ولكنها تقع عادةً في نطاق 0-70 ، وتقع مباني Passive House عادةً ضمن نطاق 0-40 (مما يجعلها أكثر كفاءة بنسبة 30-70 ٪ من منزل متوسط ​​جديد في ماساتشوستس).

يوضح هذا الاختلاف في نطاق تقييمات HERS الفرق الرئيسي بين LEED و Passive House. يركز Passive House بشكل أكبر على كفاءة الطاقة ، في حين أن المبنى يمكن أن يكون متوسط ​​الكفاءة ولكن لا يزال يحصل على شهادة LEED إذا كان ملتزمًا حقًا بمجالات أخرى من البرنامج.

كربون متجسد

مساهم كبير آخر في البصمة الكربونية للمبنى هو الكربون المتجسد في مواده. يتم إطلاق الكثير من الانبعاثات في التعدين والمعالجة والشحن والتخلص النهائي من مواد البناء. يمكن تقليل البصمة البيئية للمبنى بشكل كبير باستخدام مواد البناء ذات الكربون المنخفض.

أفضل طريقة لتقليل الكربون المتجسد هي إعادة استخدام مواد البناء. عند هدم أو إعادة بناء منزل ، من الممكن القيام بذلك أثناء إنقاذ المواد والأجهزة في المنزل في عملية تسمى التفكيك. CET تدير متجرا في سبرينغفيلد ، يسمى MA مساومات EcoBuilding حيث يمكنك التبرع وشراء الأجهزة ومواد البناء عالية الجودة المستصلحة مقابل جزء بسيط من سعرها الأصلي.

إذا لم تكن المواد المستصلحة خيارًا ، فهناك خطوات يمكن للبناة والمصممين اتخاذها لاستخدام مواد ذات كربون أقل.

أفضل طريقة للقيام بذلك هي محاولة الحد من استخدام الفولاذ والخرسانة. هذه المواد تمثل ما يقرب من 8% كل من إجمالي انبعاثات غازات الاحتباس الحراري في العالم.

يمكن للبناة والمهندسين المعماريين استخدام الخرسانة منخفضة الكربون ، أو الحد من استخدام الخرسانة في عملية البناء ، ولكن أحد أفضل الطرق لتقليل البصمة الكربونية للمبنى هو البناء باستخدام الخشب.

شعاع من الخشب الرقائقي المتقاطعيفتح ملف IMAGE

الخشب الرقائقي المتقاطع (CLT) مصنوع من قطع صغيرة من الخشب عالقة ومضغوطة معًا في نمط التظليل المتقاطع. تُصنع مادة CLT وأنواع أخرى من الأخشاب الكتلية مواد بناء متينة ومقاومة للهب وصديقة للبيئة. اعتمادات الصورة: APA - The Engineered Wood Association

يحتوي الخشب المستزرع بشكل مستدام على أقل بكثير من انبعاثات الكربون من الخرسانة والصلب. له تأثير إيجابي أكثر عندما تفكر في كمية ثاني أكسيد الكربون التي يمتصها الخشب ويخزنها عندما ينمو.

هناك مجموعة كبيرة من المنتجات الخشبية ذات درجة البناء الجديدة تسمى الأخشاب الجماعية التي تجعل تشييد المباني الشاهقة بالخشب آمنًا وفعال من حيث التكلفة.

منافع اقتصادية

يمكن أن يكون البناء الأخضر مفيدًا أيضًا لمحفظتك. تؤدي المباني الخضراء إلى توفير كبير في تكاليف الطاقة والقمامة والمياه والصيانة. المباني المعتمدة من LEED في المتوسط ​​حفظ 25-30٪ من الطاقةيفتح ملف PDF مقارنة بالمباني التقليدية ، يمكن أن تولد المنازل السلبية تكاليف دورة حياة أقل منذ ذلك الحين تقليل تكاليف التدفئة بنسبة 75-90٪.

يمكن للمباني المستدامة أيضًا أن تولد زيادات في قيمة الأصول على المباني التقليدية. يمكن لأصحاب المنازل الخضراء رؤية أ 10٪ أو أكثر زيادةيفتح ملف PDF في قيمة أصول منازلهم ، وكذلك بناء القيم حولها 7.5٪ أعلى من منازل مماثلة.

الصحة والرفاهية

في باقة دراسة تم إجراؤها في نشاط تجاري ينتقل من مبنى تقليدي إلى مبنى معتمد من LEED ، قام الباحثون باستطلاع آراء العمال قبل وبعد الانتقال ووجدوا أن العمال كانوا أقل تغيبًا بسبب الربو والحساسية التنفسية ، وكانوا أقل إجهادًا وأكثر إنتاجية في المبنى المعتمد من LEED.

كانت هذه التحسينات في الغالب بسبب التهوية المحسنة والضوء الطبيعي وعناصر التصميم البيوفيلية التي يتطلبها برنامج LEED.

تعرف على المزيد حول برامج LEED و Passive House في CET ، بالإضافة إلى مشاريع البناء عالية الأداء الأخرى هنا.

عقارات مميزة مساومات EcoBuilding لمواد البناء المستصلحة!

This blog post is an overview of our recent Building a Sustainable Future virtual event. A recording of the event can be found at the bottom of this page.

How we choose to design and build the buildings of the future will have a major impact on energy use and occupant wellbeing. In the U.S., buildings account for around 40% of total energy consumption, 73% of electricity consumption, and 14% of our water consumption. Designing efficient buildings can help us lower our energy consumption and keep our carbon footprint down.

Americans also spend around 90% of their time indoors (and probably even more than that since the start of the pandemic), and the design of these spaces where we spend most of our lives has the ability to impact our health and wellbeing.

A great way to ensure that buildings run efficiently, have a low carbon footprint, and promote health and wellbeing is to get projects certified by a building certification program that strives to achieve these goals.

LEED

The most popular of these certifications is Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design, or LEED. LEED has certification standards for all kinds of projects from single family homes, to bigger projects like schools and office buildings. There are also LEED programs for interior design, neighborhood development, and much more.

LEED certification takes many factors into account from access to transportation to energy and atmosphere! Photo credits: Kent Hicks Construction Co.

The majority of the projects promote efficiency and wellbeing through 6 main categories: location and transportation, sustainable sites, indoor environmental quality, water efficiency, materials and resources, and energy and atmosphere.

Achieving the goals in these 6 main categories, as well as other LEED program goals like innovation and regional priority will make buildings greener and more sustainable.

Passive House

Another popular building efficiency standard is Passive House. Passive House is a building standard that is truly energy efficient, comfortable, and affordable at the same time.

Just like LEED certification, there are specific standards that must be met and approved by a certified Passive House rater in order for a building to qualify as a Passive House.

Passive house is an international high performance building standard that really focuses in on energy efficiency. Check out the attached webinar for a tour of this beautiful passive house courtesy of Mount Holyoke Associate Professor of Physics, Alexi Arango! Photo credits: Alexi Arango

There are two entities that offer Passive House certification, Passive House Institute (PHI) and the Passive House Institute of the United States (PHIUS). The biggest difference between the two is that PHIUS has customized heating and cooling demand thresholds depending on your climate, whereas PHI assumes a northern European climate.

There are four concrete passive house requirements, mostly concerned with energy efficiency.

Living Building Challenge

Lastly is the Living Building Challenge (LBC). Living Buildings strive for net-zero energy, are free of toxic chemicals, and lower their energy footprint many times below the generic commercial structure.

The R.W. Kern Center is a certified Living Building on the campus of Hampshire College. One of only 23 fully certified Living Buildings, The Kern Center meets high standards for energy, water, materials, place, beauty, equity, health, and happiness. Photo credits: The Kern Center

LBC projects achieve this goal by adhering to 7 performance categories, or petals. These petals are energy, water, materials, place, beauty, equity, and health & happiness. The petals are used to represent a building that is as efficient as a flower.

Environmental Impact

There is a lot to say about how these building standards reduce the environmental impact of buildings but we’re going to focus on two areas—energy efficiency and embodied carbon.

We can compare the energy efficiency of these certification programs by looking at HERS ratings of completed projects. A home’s HERS rating is a measure of its energy efficiency; the lower the score the better. Check out the HERS website for more info on the rating system.

Just for some context, the average new home in Massachusetts has a HERS rating of around 70.

HERS ratings of LEED certified buildings vary a lot but they typically fall within the 0-70 range, and Passive House buildings typically fall within the 0-40 range (making them between 30-70% more efficient than an average new Massachusetts home).

This difference in range of HERS ratings illustrates the main difference between LEED and Passive House. Passive House is much more focused on energy efficiency, while a building can be of average efficiency but still get LEED certified if it really commits to other areas of the program.

Embodied Carbon

Another big contributor to a building’s carbon footprint is the embodied carbon in its materials. A lot of emissions are released in the mining, processing, shipping, and eventual disposal of building materials. A building’s environmental footprint can be greatly reduced by using building materials with low embodied carbon.

The best way to reduce embodied carbon is to reuse building materials. When demolishing or redoing a home, it is possible to do so while salvaging materials and appliances in the home in a process called deconstruction. CET operates a store in Springfield, MA called EcoBuilding Bargains where you can donate and buy high quality reclaimed appliances and building materials for a fraction of their original price.

If reclaimed materials aren’t an option, there are steps that builders and designers can take to use materials with lower embodied carbon.

The best way to do this is to try and limit the use of steel and concrete. These materials account for around 8% each of total world greenhouse gas emissions.

Builders and architects can use lower carbon concrete, or limit use of concrete in the building process, but one of the best ways to reduce a building’s carbon footprint is to build with wood.

A cross laminated timber beam

Cross laminated timber (CLT) is made by smaller pieces of wood stuck and pressed together in a crosshatch pattern. CLT and other types of mass timber make for sturdy, flame resistant, and environmentally friendly building materials. Photo credits: APA – The Engineered Wood Association

Sustainably farmed wood has a much lower carbon footprint than concrete and steel. It has an even more positive impact when you consider the amount of CO2 that wood sucks up and stores when it grows.

There are a host of new construction grade wood products called mass timber that make constructing tall buildings with wood safe and cost effective.

Economic Benefits

Building green can also be good for your wallet. Green buildings result in significant savings across energy, trash, water, and maintenance costs. LEED certified buildings on average save 25-30% of energy compared to traditional builds, and Passive Houses can generate lower lifecycle costs since they reduce heating costs by 75-90%.

Sustainable buildings can also generate increases in asset value over traditional buildings. Green home owners can see a 10% or greater increase in the asset value of their home, as well as building values around 7.5% higher than comparable homes.

Health and Wellbeing

In a study conducted on a business moving from a traditional building to a LEED certified building, researchers surveyed workers pre and post move and found that workers were less absent due to asthma and respiratory allergies, they were less stressed, and more productive in the LEED certified building.

These improvements were mostly due to the improved ventilation, natural light, and biophilic design elements that the LEED program requires.

Learn more about CET’s LEED and Passive House programs, as well as other High Performance Building projects here.

Check out EcoBuilding Bargains for reclaimed building materials!